AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Musk’s Comment On Grok Costs Raises Questions About AI Pricing on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

On Nov. 1, 2026, Elon Musk said the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not disclose figures or announce a specific price or usage-limit change; the comment came amid reports of fast usage depletion and recent changes to OpenAI’s subscription limits and allowances.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” replying to a user who asked about a reset after reports that people had quickly used up their allowance. Musk supplied no cost or revenue figures and did not announce a new price, limit or reset, leaving open what, if anything, will change for subscribers.

The exchange began when an X user asked Musk whether Grok Bot usage could be reset, saying that “lots of people” reported running out quickly that week. Musk responded 23 minutes later with a single sentence about the service’s costs relative to revenue. His post did not specify whether the problem had already led to a change in usage allocations, whether a change was planned, or how many subscribers were affected.

Grok Bot is an agent that performs tasks such as research, writing and browsing, rather than simply returning a chat response. According to xAI’s pricing information, it is included with the Premium, Super and Ultra subscription tiers, listed at $30, $100 and $200 per month respectively, and draws from a shared weekly usage pool that also covers Grok chat and models in the coding tool Cursor. xAI says usage depends on agent steps, tokens and the work requested, rather than just the number of messages.

The comment came during a week of changes and reports about AI subscription allowances. OpenAI’s help materials say paid ChatGPT accounts are subject to limits on how many subscriptions can be associated with a payment card or device, although the company does not publish a numerical threshold. OpenAI also says that, from December, Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one shared token allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. The source material says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that allowance.

At a glance
updateWhen: Musk posted on Nov. 1, 2026; the implic…
The developmentElon Musk said Grok Bot’s costs were too high relative to its revenue after a user asked about a usage reset.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Why AI Subscription Limits Matter

Musk’s comment highlights a basic tension in flat-rate AI plans: the monthly price may be fixed while the cost of fulfilling each request varies. A short chat response and an agent working through a multi-step task can require very different amounts of computing. xAI’s description of Grok Bot usage likewise says consumption depends on the steps and tokens involved in a task.

For subscribers, that can make a plan that sounds like a simple monthly service feel less predictable when allowances are shared across products or depleted at different rates. For businesses, the issue affects budgeting: a per-seat subscription may not by itself describe the cost of heavier agent use. The available information does not establish that AI subscriptions as a category are ending or that a particular vendor will raise prices. It does show why readers should distinguish a flat subscription fee from unlimited access.

OpenAI’s changes illustrate that limits can move in both directions. Its release notes say the company increased Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and cancelled a planned reduction for Pro 200, even as it described new account-sharing restrictions and a coming shared allowance across products. These are distinct policy changes, not evidence of a single industry-wide pricing decision.

Ninja Luxe Café Mini Plus Espresso and Drip Coffee Machine with AutoFroth, Stainless Steel (ES351)

Ninja Luxe Café Mini Plus Espresso and Drip Coffee Machine with AutoFroth, Stainless Steel (ES351)

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Over-Ear Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Hazelnut Taupe

Bose QuietComfort Headphones (2nd Gen), Wireless Over-Ear Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Hazelnut Taupe

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Recent Changes to AI Allowances

The direct news is Musk’s reply, not a published xAI price change. He made the post on Nov. 1 at 20:34 UTC, according to the source material. The user’s question referred to reports of usage running out quickly, but the post did not verify how widespread those reports were or explain their cause.

OpenAI’s allowance changes provide relevant comparison, but they do not explain xAI’s costs. On Oct. 29, OpenAI staff member Thibault Sottiaux wrote that usage limits were being doubled for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 tiers and Business Premium. OpenAI’s release notes described a narrower change: twice the prior Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500, and cancellation of a planned cut to Pro 200. OpenAI also announced that Plus, Pro and Business customers will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December.

The source material also cites OpenAI’s model pricing as an example of how different models can consume allowances at different rates. That comparison concerns OpenAI’s rate card and should not be treated as a measure of Grok Bot’s costs. No figures in Musk’s post permit a direct comparison of xAI’s serving expenses, revenue or margins.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying on X on Nov. 1, 2026

What Musk’s Post Leaves Open

No financial breakdown is available: Musk did not disclose Grok Bot’s serving costs, revenue, margins or the period covered by his statement. It is also unclear whether the post refers to a past condition that has since changed or to an ongoing problem. The past-tense wording alone does not establish that xAI already altered the service.

Musk did not say whether xAI changed the weekly pool, plans to change it, will offer resets, or might adjust prices. The source material reports that Grok’s official account discussed “adjusted allocations” and a separate dashboard fault that temporarily showed usage too high, but says the post could not be independently found. Those details should therefore be treated as reported rather than confirmed here. The number of affected users and the reported pace of usage depletion are also not established.

What to Watch at xAI

The next clear signals would be an update to xAI’s pricing or help pages, a statement from the company explaining any allowance adjustment, or a change to the subscription tiers that include Grok Bot. Until then, Musk’s comment does not confirm a price increase or a new usage cap.

Subscribers can check the plan terms and usage information shown in their accounts for current allowances. Businesses evaluating agent subscriptions should ask providers to specify in writing how usage is measured, which products draw from a shared pool, and what happens when an allowance is reached. OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is scheduled to begin in December, according to its help materials; whether xAI will make any corresponding change remains unknown.

Key Questions

What did Elon Musk say about Grok Bot?

On Nov. 1, 2026, Musk said the cost of serving Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not provide financial figures or detail a specific response.

Did Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase or usage cut?

No. His post announced no price change, limit adjustment or reset. Whether xAI has changed or plans to change usage allowances remains unclear.

Which subscriptions include Grok Bot?

According to xAI’s pricing information cited in the source material, Grok Bot is included with Premium at $30 per month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, and draws from a shared weekly usage pool. Plan details may change, so subscribers should check xAI’s current terms.

Why might Grok Bot use more of an allowance than a chat reply?

xAI describes Grok Bot as an agent that can perform multi-step tasks. Its documentation says usage depends on agent steps, tokens and task effort, so different requests may consume the shared pool at different rates.

What is changing for ChatGPT and Codex?

OpenAI says that starting in December 2026, Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. OpenAI also says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that allowance.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

The SSD Squeeze: Why Storage Joined The Party

Enterprise and consumer SSD prices soar as NAND supply tightens due to AI workloads and wafer competition, impacting markets and buyers worldwide.

Electric Bus Standards and Certifications

Keeping up with electric bus standards and certifications is crucial to ensuring safety, compliance, and optimal performance—discover why they matter.

Why AI Is Your Best Weapon Against Criminal Scam Operations

OpenAI identified and banned ChatGPT accounts linked to a coordinated scam operation, highlighting AI’s role in combating online fraud.

YouTube TV Quietly Extended Its $75 Discount—Here’s How You Can Save Through the Rest of 2026

YouTube TV has quietly extended its $75 monthly discount, allowing subscribers to save through the rest of 2026. Here’s how to take advantage.