🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI’s ChatGPT Pro Changes, From Doubled Limits To Plan Details on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex usage allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The shared Work and Codex allowance is doubled on those plans, while some chat limits and prices stay unchanged; Business Premium also receives more usage, but OpenAI did not specify how much.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut for its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled the shared Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, the company said in October 29 release notes. The change came one day before the planned Pro 200 reduction was due to begin; prices remain unchanged, and the increase applies to specific usage allowances rather than every ChatGPT limit.
OpenAI’s release notes say the Pro 100 and Pro 500 plans now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, so using one reduces the amount available for the other. The company describes Work as a mode for longer tasks, while Codex is its coding agent. The October 29 update also appears in the ChatGPT Business release notes.
For Pro 200, OpenAI said it canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. Its updated Pro help page says only subscribers on the lower allowance receive a doubling, bringing them up to the higher allowance already available to some subscribers. Those who already had the higher allowance keep it. OpenAI says new and existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, with no need to wait for a billing renewal.
Other limits differ by plan. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits. The lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit on Pro 200 now matches its higher limit. Ultrafast, a faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. Business Premium seats receive increased usage, but OpenAI’s release note does not provide a multiplier or amount.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the New Allowances Affect Subscribers
The change affects how much longer-form work and coding subscribers can do before reaching the shared allowance, but it does not mean every Pro feature has twice the limit. Work and Codex share one pool, and OpenAI says actual usage depends on factors including the model, task and speed mode. The increase is therefore a larger allowance, not a guarantee of twice as many completed tasks.
For subscribers, the practical issue is knowing which limit applies to their plan and whether their usage is within the changed category. A person who mainly uses GPT-6 Pro chat on Pro 100 or Pro 500 should not expect a higher weekly chat cap from this announcement. For organizations, the unspecified Business Premium increase makes it harder to calculate the effect on seat-level usage in advance. Plan prices did not change, but the amount of usage included did.
OpenAI’s reversal also matters because plan limits can change on short notice. Customers evaluating a subscription should distinguish the Work and Codex allowance from chat limits and from API budgets, which are separate. The update gives affected subscribers more room under certain plan features, but does not provide a single multiplier that applies across all products and limits.
Popular right now

Roborock F25 BX Cordless Wet Dry Vacuum Mop

Ninja Flip Toaster Oven and Air Fryer, 8-in-1, Stainless Steel, SP151

KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Almond Cream
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
September Plan Changes Set the Stage
The revision follows a series of changes to OpenAI’s Pro lineup. On September 10, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux, who posts as Tibo, linked the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. Sottiaux described that demand as “really unprecedented”; that was his characterization, not a usage figure included in the October 29 release note.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. A notice that day said included usage allowances were changing and that the monthly price would remain $200. According to the source report, Sottiaux described the planned plan scale as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while some existing subscribers would temporarily keep a 20X allowance. The planned reduction for some Pro 200 users was due to take effect October 30. OpenAI canceled it on October 29 instead.
The October update’s wording is narrower than a broad claim that every limit doubled. Sottiaux wrote that OpenAI was “doubling all usage limits” for Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium, but the company’s help page specifies the Work and Codex changes and lists limits that remain the same. For plan details, the company documentation provides the more specific account.
““We heard your kind feedback.””
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo
OpenAI has not published a numerical increase for Business Premium usage in its release note. Sottiaux said the limits were doubling, but the company’s note says only that Business Premium usage is increasing. The precise allowance for each seat is therefore not established by the official documentation cited here.
OpenAI also has not stated in the October 29 material how long the revised allowances will remain in place or whether it plans further changes. The update does not cover Business Standard, Go or Free plans, so no change to those plans can be inferred from their omission. Actual task capacity will vary with usage conditions, and the company does not promise that twice the allowance equals twice the work.
Check the Updated Plan Usage Pages
OpenAI says the new allowances apply automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for renewal; new subscriptions include the updated allowance. Subscribers can check their account’s usage page and OpenAI’s Pro help page to see the limits attached to their plan. Businesses reviewing seat costs may need to confirm the Business Premium allowance directly in current plan documentation, since the October release note gives no multiplier.
For now, the key distinction is between the shared Work and Codex allowance and the separate ChatGPT chat limits. Any further changes to those limits, or additional details on Business Premium, have not been announced in the source material.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT Pro plans received doubled Work and Codex allowances?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. Pro 200’s change is a reversal of a planned cut, with the lower allowance raised to match the higher one.
Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT Pro limit?
No. The stated increase concerns Work and Codex usage, which share an allowance. OpenAI says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged, while Pro 200’s lower weekly limit now matches its higher limit.
Did the ChatGPT Pro prices change?
No price change was announced. The listed Pro tiers remain $100, $200 and $500 per month, and OpenAI says Plus usage and pricing were not changed in this update.
How much more usage does Business Premium get?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no amount or multiplier. Sottiaux described it as doubling, but the company documentation cited in the update does not specify a figure.
Do current subscribers need to take action?
OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the applicable updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal. Subscribers can check their account usage page for plan-specific details.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
