Choosing among the best commercial AC EV chargers means weighing more than maximum amperage. The Autel MaxiCharger 80A is my pick for sites that need high output and app-based monitoring, while the Grizzl-E Ultimate 80A stands out for its rugged metal enclosure and J1772/NACS connector options. For a charger built around paid public use, the OCPP-compliant commercial station offers driver payments and usage reporting, although its single port and pedestal requirement shape where it fits.
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
The main tradeoff is between charging capacity and site management. Higher-output chargers can reduce vehicle dwell time, but they need suitable electrical service and professional installation. Networked payment features matter at public sites, while a simpler workplace or fleet installation may get more value from durable construction, connector compatibility, and straightforward monitoring. I compare the four options by these buyer needs rather than treating them as interchangeable.
Key Takeaways
- The Autel MaxiCharger and Grizzl-E Ultimate both offer up to 80A and 19.2 kW, but Autel emphasizes app control and theft protection while Grizzl-E adds a UL Type 4 metal enclosure and J1772/NACS connector options.
- The OCPP-compliant station is the clearest fit for public charging that needs driver payments and usage reporting; its single port and separate pedestal mount add site-planning requirements.
- ChargePoint HomeFlex is the lower-output pick at 50A, with app management and a cold-resistant cable, but its product details are oriented more toward a connected single charger than a full commercial charging network.
- An 80A charger can reduce charging time only when the vehicle, wiring, and available electrical service support that output; plan for circuit capacity before choosing by amperage alone.
- All four listings describe one charging port, so multi-vehicle locations may need multiple units, a separate load-management plan, or a different multi-port system.
| Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, 80 Amp Fast Charging, Indoor/Outdoor, J1772, Hardwired | ![]() | Best Overall for High-Output Commercial Charging | Maximum output: 80A; up to 19.2 kW | Voltage: 240V | Connector: SAE J1772 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Grizzl-E Ultimate Level 2 EV Charger, 80A / 19.2 kW, UL Certified, Indoor/Outdoor, J1772/NACS | ![]() | Best for Rugged Sites and Connector Flexibility | Maximum output: 80A; up to 19.2 kW | Voltage: 240V | Connector: J1772/NACS options | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Commercial EV Charging Station – OCPP-Compliant, Revenue-Generating Charger with Driver Pay App | ![]() | Best for Public Charging and Driver Payments | Voltage: 240V AC | Maximum amperage: Not specified in supplied details | Connector: J1772 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A | ![]() | Best for Smaller Sites Wanting App Management | Maximum output: 50A | Voltage: 240V | Claimed charging rate: Up to 45 miles per hour | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| commercial AC EV charger | Voltage | Connector | Ports | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 Elec | 240V | SAE J1772 | 1 | 5 years |
| Grizzl-E Ultimate Level 2 EV C | 240V | J1772/NACS options | 1 | 3 years |
| Commercial EV Charging Station | 240V AC | J1772 | 1 | 2 years |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | 240V | J1772 | 1 | 3 years |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, 80 Amp Fast Charging, Indoor/Outdoor, J1772, Hardwired
The Autel MaxiCharger earns my overall pick because it combines a substantial 80A, 19.2 kW maximum output with energy monitoring and app control. That combination suits workplaces, small fleets, and managed parking where vehicles may need meaningful charge during a work shift. Its stated compatibility with North American EVs and PHEVs using a J1772 connector also gives it broad reach, though Tesla drivers will need an appropriate adapter.
Compared with the ChargePoint HomeFlex, Autel offers considerably more stated amperage, which can help when vehicles have limited time parked. That advantage depends on the vehicle’s onboard charging limit and the building’s electrical service; a charger cannot force an EV to accept more power than it supports. The product calls for a 100A circuit, so I would treat electrical capacity and installation planning as major parts of the purchase, not afterthoughts.
Autel also brings a five-year warranty in the supplied details, longer than the three-year coverage listed for ChargePoint and Grizzl-E. Its theft protection and temperature monitoring add useful safeguards for an exposed installation. The tradeoff is that this is a single-port, hardwired unit with a J1772 connector, not a complete multi-stall charging system. Buyers needing public billing, driver payments, or network reporting should compare it with the OCPP station instead. I would choose Autel when high-output charging and local app-based oversight matter more than built-in public payment tools.
Pros:- Up to 80A and 19.2 kW for vehicles that can accept high AC charging output.
- App control and real-time energy monitoring support scheduling and usage oversight.
- Temperature monitoring and theft protection add practical safeguards for exposed locations.
- Five-year warranty is longer than the coverage listed for the other connected single-unit models.
Cons:- Hardwired installation and a stated 100A circuit requirement can complicate electrical planning.
- Single J1772 connector means Tesla vehicles may need an adapter and the unit serves one vehicle at a time.
- No public driver payment or revenue management feature is specified.
Best for: Workplaces, managed parking areas, and small fleet sites with adequate electrical service that want 80A output, monitoring, and a longer stated warranty.
Not ideal for: Sites with limited electrical capacity, buyers seeking a plug-in installation, or public operators who need built-in driver billing and multiple charging ports.
- Maximum output:80A; up to 19.2 kW
- Voltage:240V
- Connector:SAE J1772
- Ports:1
- Installation:Hardwired; 100A circuit requirement stated in supplied details
- Use:Indoor/outdoor
- Warranty:5 years
- Certifications:CSA, UL
Our verdict“I would choose the Autel MaxiCharger for a commercial site that can support 80A charging and values app monitoring more than built-in public billing.”
Grizzl-E Ultimate Level 2 EV Charger, 80A / 19.2 kW, UL Certified, Indoor/Outdoor, J1772/NACS
The Grizzl-E Ultimate matches Autel’s headline output at 80A and 19.2 kW, but its clearest distinction is physical: a UL Type 4 metal enclosure, indoor/outdoor rating, and stated protection against electrical and temperature faults. That makes it the most compelling option here for exposed parking areas, fleet yards, or locations where enclosure durability carries more weight than a longer warranty or extensive app features.
Its listed J1772/NACS connector options also set it apart from the J1772-only Autel and ChargePoint units. Connector choice can simplify access for a mixed vehicle population, but buyers should confirm exactly which connector configuration is included before ordering. Grizzl-E’s 25-foot cable can help reach vehicles parked at varying distances from the wall or post; the listing does not establish that every parking layout can be served without repositioning the charger.
Compared with Autel, Grizzl-E supplies adjustable amperage and smart load balancing, which may help a site work within available electrical capacity. I would still have an electrician verify the installation design rather than treating adjustability as a substitute for a suitable circuit. Its three-year warranty is shorter than Autel’s stated five years, and the product details do not describe a driver payment system like the OCPP commercial station. This is a strong hardware-first choice, not the most complete public charging business platform.
The single port remains a limiting factor for sites with simultaneous demand from several vehicles. I would shortlist Grizzl-E when the installation is exposed, cable reach and connector flexibility matter, and the operator wants a high-output unit with network connectivity. I would favor the OCPP model instead when collection of payments and usage reporting are the main goals.
Pros:- 80A and 19.2 kW maximum output match the strongest charging capacity in this lineup.
- UL Type 4 metal enclosure is suited to indoor and outdoor installations.
- J1772/NACS connector options and a 25-foot cable offer useful installation flexibility.
- Adjustable amperage, Wi-Fi monitoring, and listed electrical protections support managed operation.
Cons:- Hardwired installation may require professional electrical work and site planning.
- Three-year warranty is shorter than Autel’s listed five-year coverage.
- No built-in driver payment or revenue-management feature is specified.
Best for: Fleet yards, outdoor workplace lots, and operators who prioritize a heavy-duty enclosure, long cable, adjustable output, and J1772/NACS options.
Not ideal for: Public charging operators who need a specified driver payment system, buyers who need multiple ports in one unit, or shoppers who prioritize a longer stated warranty.
- Maximum output:80A; up to 19.2 kW
- Voltage:240V
- Connector:J1772/NACS options
- Ports:1
- Cable length:25 ft
- Enclosure:UL Type 4 metal
- Features:Wi-Fi, real-time monitoring, adjustable amperage, smart load balancing
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“I would pick the Grizzl-E Ultimate over Autel when enclosure toughness and connector choice matter more than warranty length or public billing tools.”
Commercial EV Charging Station – OCPP-Compliant, Revenue-Generating Charger with Driver Pay App
This OCPP-compliant commercial station takes a different approach from the high-output hardware picks: its strongest selling point is the operating model. Customizable pricing, driver payment through the EV Range app, network compatibility, and usage reporting are aimed at operators who want to make charging available to visitors or customers and manage paid sessions. For that purpose, its public-facing tools matter more than matching the 80A ratings of Autel and Grizzl-E.
The product is specified as a 240V AC, single-port J1772 charger, with a weather-resistant enclosure and support for plug-in hybrids and EVs when equipped with the appropriate Tesla adapter. The supplied details do not state its amperage or maximum kilowatt output, so I would not rank it alongside 80A chargers for charging speed. Instead, I would treat it as the clearest pick in this group for payment-led public use, subject to confirming its electrical ratings and network arrangements with the seller.
Compared with ChargePoint HomeFlex, this model describes payment and usage-reporting functions that map more directly to a commercial operator’s needs. Compared with Autel and Grizzl-E, it gives up specified high-output performance and connector flexibility. The product also requires a pedestal mount that is not included, which can affect the layout and installation budget. A single port may be fine for a small public location, but a busy site will likely need multiple units or a broader charging system.
I would not choose this station solely on the OCPP label. Operators should confirm which network functions are supported, what account or service arrangements are needed, how payments are settled, and what reporting is available. Those details can determine whether the system fits an actual business process. For a site where drivers need to pay for sessions, it is a more purpose-built starting point than the other entries; for employee-only charging, the payment features may add complexity with little benefit.
Pros:- Customizable pricing and driver payment through the EV Range app support paid public sessions.
- Usage reports and network compatibility are aimed at operator management.
- Weather-resistant enclosure suits a range of outdoor locations.
- OCPP compliance offers a commercial network feature absent from the other product descriptions.
Cons:- Amperage and maximum charging output are not specified in the supplied product details.
- Pedestal mount is required and not included.
- One J1772 port serves one vehicle at a time, and some vehicles may need an adapter.
Best for: Small public-facing sites, customer parking, or fleet operators who need paid charging sessions and usage reporting.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified high-amperage output, multiple ports in one unit, or an installation that cannot accommodate a separate pedestal.
- Voltage:240V AC
- Maximum amperage:Not specified in supplied details
- Connector:J1772
- Ports:1
- Network:OCPP-compliant; network compatibility stated
- Payment features:EV Range app, customizable pricing, usage reports
- Mounting:Pedestal mount required; not included
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“I would choose this OCPP station for payment-led public charging, after confirming output, network terms, and pedestal requirements.”
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
The ChargePoint HomeFlex is the more modest-output option, rated at 50A and described as delivering up to 45 miles of range per hour. That figure is a product claim, not a guaranteed result for every vehicle or site. Its useful distinction is the ChargePoint app and Wi-Fi control, paired with a cold-resistant cable and indoor/outdoor suitability. I see it fitting a workplace or small property that wants a connected single charger without prioritizing the 80A ceiling of Autel and Grizzl-E.
Compared with those two 80A models, HomeFlex has lower maximum amperage, so it may be less suitable where vehicles arrive with low charge and leave after short dwell periods. Yet not every site needs the highest output: a workplace where cars remain parked for much of the day may value app-based control and cable performance in cold conditions more than extra capacity. The hardwired design still calls for electrical planning, and its Wi-Fi dependence means the app’s remote features may be limited where the network connection is unreliable.
Its three-year warranty is shorter than Autel’s five-year term and matches Grizzl-E’s stated coverage. Unlike the OCPP station, the listing does not describe driver payments, pricing controls, or commercial usage reports. That distinction matters: ChargePoint offers smart charging management, but the supplied details do not establish it as a full public billing platform. Tesla owners also need an adapter, as with the J1772-only Autel.
I would shortlist HomeFlex for a smaller commercial setting where 50A output is adequate, Wi-Fi is available, and app control is a priority. For heavy-duty exposed sites, Grizzl-E’s metal enclosure is more clearly specified. For a higher-output installation, Autel offers more capacity. For paid public access, the OCPP unit is more purpose-built. HomeFlex is not the fastest or most commercially detailed option in this group, but it can make sense when its simpler role matches the site.
Pros:- 50A output and a stated charging rate of up to 45 miles per hour suit many parked-for-hours use cases.
- ChargePoint app and Wi-Fi support remote control and management.
- Cold-resistant cable and indoor/outdoor suitability support varied installation conditions.
- Three-year warranty is clearly stated.
Cons:- Lower maximum amperage than the 80A Autel and Grizzl-E options.
- Full app functionality depends on Wi-Fi connectivity.
- No driver payment or commercial revenue-management feature is described, and Tesla vehicles need an adapter.
Best for: Small workplaces and light-duty commercial locations with reliable Wi-Fi, longer parking sessions, and no need for built-in driver billing.
Not ideal for: High-turnover fleets needing maximum stated output, public operators requiring payment tools, or sites with unreliable Wi-Fi.
- Maximum output:50A
- Voltage:240V
- Claimed charging rate:Up to 45 miles per hour
- Connector:J1772
- Ports:1
- Installation:Hardwired
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and ChargePoint app
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“I would choose HomeFlex for a Wi-Fi-connected smaller site where 50A is sufficient and payment management is unnecessary.”

How We Picked
I ranked these chargers by how well their stated features answer real commercial AC charging needs: daily reliability, vehicle compatibility, site suitability, and the ability to manage charging or payments. I gave the strongest consideration to products with clearly stated output, enclosure or weather suitability, and management features that can support a workplace, fleet, or public location. I also treated the intended setting as part of the choice: a public charging station needs more than a high amperage figure, while a private employee lot may not need a driver payment system.
The ranking reflects meaningful differences, not a claim that one model suits every property. The Autel MaxiCharger takes the overall spot because it pairs 80A output with app control, energy monitoring, security features, and a five-year warranty in the supplied details. The Grizzl-E Ultimate is close behind for buyers prioritizing enclosure toughness and connector flexibility. I placed the OCPP station higher for public revenue use, but its limited port count and pedestal requirement narrow its fit. ChargePoint HomeFlex has useful app features and a cold-resistant cable, yet its 50A rating and more limited commercial-management details make it better as a smaller-site or light-duty option.
I did not infer installation costs, network fees, charging speeds for particular vehicles, or compatibility beyond the specifications provided. Advertised maximum output is not a guarantee that every EV will accept that rate. Before purchase, I would confirm electrical capacity, connector needs, local code, network terms, and whether the product’s warranty and support arrangements match the planned site.
| commercial AC EV charger | Connector | Installation |
|---|---|---|
| Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 Elec | SAE J1772 | Hardwired; 100A circuit requirement stated in supplied details |
| Grizzl-E Ultimate Level 2 EV C | J1772/NACS options | — |
| Commercial EV Charging Station | J1772 | — |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 E | J1772 | Hardwired |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Commercial AC EV Chargers
For commercial AC charging, I would start with the site’s operating needs, then match output and connector to the vehicles and electrical service. A charger that looks powerful on paper can still be a poor fit if vehicles are parked long enough that lower output is sufficient, or if the property needs payment and reporting rather than more amperage.
Match amperage to parking time and electrical capacity
The two 80A models, Autel MaxiCharger and Grizzl-E Ultimate, list up to 19.2 kW. That capacity can benefit vehicles able to accept high AC charging rates, particularly when parking windows are short. It is not a universal speed guarantee: actual charging is limited by the vehicle’s onboard charger, available voltage, site load, and electrical configuration.
ChargePoint HomeFlex is rated at 50A, which can suit vehicles parked through a full workday or overnight. The OCPP station does not list amperage in the supplied details, so I would request a confirmed output rating before comparing its charging performance with the others. Before choosing any model, have a qualified electrician review the panel, circuit, wiring route, and any demand-management needs. Autel’s stated 100A circuit requirement deserves particular attention.
Choose network features for the way the site operates
App control and monitoring are useful for checking charger activity and energy use, but they are not the same as public billing. Autel lists app control and real-time energy monitoring; Grizzl-E lists Wi-Fi monitoring and smart load balancing; ChargePoint describes app management over Wi-Fi. These features can help an owner oversee a charger, but the supplied descriptions do not establish built-in driver payments for those three products.
The OCPP-compliant station is the one listing customizable pricing, mobile-app driver payment, and usage reports. That gives it the most explicit match for paid public charging. I would still verify how the network service operates, what reporting and payment settlement include, and whether ongoing service arrangements apply. A workplace that offers charging as an employee amenity may not benefit from those additional operating layers.
Check connectors against the vehicles that will use the charger
Autel and ChargePoint list J1772 connectors. The OCPP station also uses J1772 and notes that Tesla vehicles need an adapter. Grizzl-E lists J1772/NACS options, which may make it the most flexible starting point for a mixed North American vehicle population, but buyers should confirm the exact connector configuration supplied with the selected unit.
Do not assume that a connector label alone settles compatibility. Confirm the vehicle mix, adapters allowed by the site, cable reach, and any site rules about who supplies adapters. For commercial locations, a connector mismatch can cause more disruption than a difference in headline charging output.
Treat enclosure, cable, and mounting as site-fit decisions
For an exposed or demanding location, the Grizzl-E UL Type 4 metal enclosure is a clearly stated strength, while ChargePoint highlights a cold-resistant cable and indoor/outdoor use. Autel lists indoor/outdoor suitability, temperature monitoring, and theft protection. The OCPP station describes a weather-resistant enclosure, but also requires a pedestal mount that is not included.
Review mounting height, cable path, vehicle stall position, protection from impact, and local accessibility requirements before purchase. Grizzl-E’s 25-foot cable may provide useful reach, but it does not replace a layout check. A wall-mounted charger and a pedestal-mounted station can produce different installation work even when each serves only one vehicle.
Plan for one port per unit and compare warranty terms
Every product here is listed as a single-port charger. A site expecting simultaneous use by multiple vehicles will need multiple units or a system designed for more ports, plus a plan for circuit capacity and load sharing. Grizzl-E mentions smart load balancing; the other product descriptions do not provide the same level of detail about shared electrical load across several chargers.
Warranty terms in the supplied information range from two years for the OCPP station, three years for ChargePoint and Grizzl-E, and five years for Autel. I would compare those terms alongside installation requirements, support coverage, network arrangements, and the intended operating environment. A longer stated warranty is useful, but it does not answer every question about service response or site uptime.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which charger is the best fit for a public charging location?
The OCPP-compliant commercial station is the clearest fit in this group when drivers need to pay for charging, because its description includes customizable pricing, EV Range app payments, and usage reports. I would confirm the unit’s amperage, network functions, payment settlement process, and pedestal requirements before committing. For a public site focused on faster AC output rather than payment tools, compare the Autel or Grizzl-E models and confirm the site’s billing needs separately.
Are the 80A Autel and Grizzl-E chargers faster than the 50A ChargePoint?
They have higher listed maximum amperage, with Autel and Grizzl-E rated up to 80A and 19.2 kW, compared with ChargePoint’s 50A rating. That does not mean every vehicle will charge faster at the full 80A rate. The vehicle’s onboard charger, electrical supply, and installation determine the rate available in practice. I would match the charger to typical parking time and vehicle capability rather than selecting by amperage alone.
Can I use these J1772 chargers with Tesla vehicles?
J1772 compatibility for Tesla vehicles generally requires a suitable adapter. The supplied product details specifically note an adapter for Tesla use with ChargePoint and the OCPP station, and Autel lists J1772 without including a NACS adapter. Grizzl-E lists J1772/NACS options, but I would confirm which connector version is included for the exact unit being purchased. Check adapter policies and compatibility for the vehicles expected at the site.
Do commercial AC chargers need professional installation?
These models are hardwired or otherwise require fixed electrical installation, so I would plan for review by a qualified electrician and follow local electrical and building requirements. Autel’s supplied details call for a 100A circuit, while the other products also need an installation compatible with their ratings and mounting style. The OCPP station adds a separate pedestal requirement. Electrical capacity, cable routing, mounting, and load management should be settled before equipment is ordered.
Is one charger enough for a workplace or fleet?
Each product in this comparison has one port, so a single unit can charge only one vehicle at a time. One charger may suit a small workplace with staggered schedules or a fleet vehicle that returns to a dedicated stall. If several vehicles need charging at once, plan for additional units or a multi-port system, then check whether the electrical service can support simultaneous demand. Grizzl-E lists smart load balancing, but the site still needs a suitable electrical design.
Conclusion
My overall recommendation is the Autel MaxiCharger for commercial buyers who need high stated output, monitoring, and security features and can support its electrical requirements. Choose the Grizzl-E Ultimate when a rugged metal enclosure, longer cable, and J1772/NACS options are more important than a longer warranty. For paid public charging, the OCPP station is the most directly aligned with driver payments and usage reporting, provided its output and network terms meet the site’s needs. Pick ChargePoint HomeFlex for a smaller Wi-Fi-connected workplace where 50A is enough and public billing is not required. Before making the final call, I would confirm electrical capacity, connector configuration, mounting needs, and how many vehicles must charge at once.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.




