🔍 Read the full analysis: Why Retell Uses OpenAI Models For Its Call Platform on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify when the figure was measured, how calls are counted, or which models are used.
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month, with OpenAI models helping power the service. As detailed in the original analysis, the figure signals substantial reported activity, but the announcement does not say when it was measured, how a call is counted, or which OpenAI models are involved.
The announcement links Retell’s voice AI platform with OpenAI models and reports a monthly volume of 100 million calls. It does not explain whether that total means completed conversations, attempted calls, or another measure of platform activity. No reporting dates or counting methodology are included in the available details.
Retell also does not identify which OpenAI models it uses or describe what those models do during a call. The announcement provides no breakdown of how much of the reported volume depends on OpenAI models, and does not name customers or separate the total by use case. It also offers no figures for accuracy, response time, call completion, pricing, or customer outcomes.
The number is a monthly call-volume claim, not a disclosed count of unique users, revenue, or successful interactions. No earlier volume or comparison baseline is given, so the figure cannot establish a growth rate. The details available do not say whether the count includes both inbound and outbound calls, repeat attempts, or calls that end before a conversation is completed.
What the Call Volume Shows
If measured consistently, 100 million calls a month would indicate that Retell’s service is operating at substantial reported volume. That may be relevant to businesses evaluating automated phone services and to technology providers supplying the models behind them. But the headline figure alone does not show how many customers or callers are involved, or whether calls reach useful outcomes.
Without a defined counting method and performance data, readers cannot make a like-for-like comparison with other voice AI platforms. Nor does the announcement establish that OpenAI models are responsible for every call or for any particular share of the work. The reported volume describes scale as Retell presents it; it is not evidence by itself of service quality, cost savings, or customer satisfaction.
Popular right now

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Sony WH-1000XM6 Wireless Noise-Canceling Over-Ear Headphones, Blue, Bundle

Breville Bambino Espresso Machine, Brushed Stainless Steel
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retell’s OpenAI-Powered Service
Retell offers a voice AI platform, and the announcement says OpenAI models help power it. Voice AI services are designed to handle spoken interactions over the phone, but the details provided here do not describe Retell’s technical architecture or specify which parts of an interaction use OpenAI models.
The announcement’s central metric is a monthly call count. It does not provide a dated measurement window, a previous figure, or a baseline for comparison. That distinction matters: a single reported total can convey claimed activity, but it cannot show a trend without comparable figures from another period.
“Its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month, with help from OpenAI models.”
— Retell, as described in the announcement
How Retell Counts Its Calls
The announcement does not identify when the 100 million figure was measured or define what qualifies as a call. It remains unclear whether the total covers call attempts, completed calls, or another form of activity, and whether inbound and outbound calls or repeat attempts are included.
The specific OpenAI models and their roles are also undisclosed in the details available. There is no stated share of calls using those models, independent verification of the volume, or data on performance, latency, accuracy, pricing, or customer outcomes. Without those details, the figure cannot be used to establish growth or compare platform performance.
Details Needed to Clarify Scale
Further information from Retell could clarify the measurement period and call-counting method, including what the total includes. Details about which OpenAI models are used and what tasks they perform would help explain the relationship between the models and the platform’s reported activity.
The announcement provides no next milestone or disclosure timeline. Until Retell publishes more detail, the 100 million figure should be read as the company’s reported monthly volume, not as a verified measure of completed conversations or service performance.
Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Key Questions
What did Retell announce?
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month and that OpenAI models help power the service.
Which OpenAI models does Retell use?
The announcement details available here do not identify the specific models or explain the tasks they perform during calls.
How does Retell count a call?
The counting method is not specified. It is unclear whether the figure includes attempts, completed conversations, repeat calls, or another activity measure.
Does the figure show that Retell is growing?
No. Retell provides no earlier figure or comparison baseline, so the monthly total alone does not establish growth.
Does 100 million calls mean 100 million successful conversations?
That is not established. The announcement does not say whether the total counts completed calls or attempts, and it provides no outcome data.
Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com
